• Home
  • News
  • More Glory for our Cadets at the Dyer Cup

More Glory for our Cadets at the Dyer Cup

09/10/2018 10:29 | Rear Commodore (Administrator)

On Sunday 7th October a cool force 3-4 NNW wind and autumn sunshine greeted the 39 dinghies and cruisers competing in our last all in race of the season, the Dyer Cup. Race Officer George set a long line extending south from Osea Road and achieved a remarkably orderly start for the down wind broad reach port tack start. The committee boat end was very busy, but others opted for a clear wind start towards Osea. Spinnakers quickly appeared allowing the faster boats to pull clear of the closely bunched slower boats. A gybe around Doctor and then a close fetch to South Doubles and hard on the wind to Hilly Pool. Bear away for a run down to Nipper and a final gybe for the beat back to the club line. The first boat home was the Spitfire in 39 minutes but a brilliantly sailed race by Marnie and Ellie in their Feva gave them an impressive victory over some of the club’s finest helms. Second, and winning the Fendick Cup was Terry Crook in a blaze.        

This was a very closely contested race with only 4 minutes on corrected time between the first 21 boats. This wasn’t a day for the cruisers though, first home was Joe Leary and Breezy in 30th place overall but winning the Copsey Cup for first cruiser.

A short Dyer cup course was set for younger cadets in toppers and optimists.

It was particularly fitting that the prizes were presented by 90 year old Peter Wilson, our oldest honorary cadet member who had made a special trip to the club for this event.

Marnie Aers and Ellie Shelter presented with the Dyer Cup by Peter

Marnie and Ellie Dyer Cup


Dyer Cup:

1st Marnie Aers and Ellie Shelter – RS Feva

2nd Terry Crook – Blaze (Fendick Cup)

3rd Phil Newman and Lester Apthorp – K6

Short Dyer Cup:

1st Jessica Taylor – Topper

2nd Stanley Johnson – Optimist

3rd Jess Welch – Optimist

For the full results click Dyer Cup Results

Photos © Zoe Nelson and Kate Stewart

Copyright 2021
Blackwater Sailing Club Ltd.
Website content not to be copied
without permission

Blackwater Sailing Club, Basin Road, Heybridge,
Maldon, Essex, CM9 4SD
or Contact us by email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software